top of page

The points of the compass in Spanish

In beginning Spanish language classes, they teach you how to say the four points of the compass: norte, sur, este, oeste.

But they usually fail to teach you the adjectives that go with these nouns:

norte: septentrional (northern)

sur: meridional (southern)

este: oriental (eastern)

oeste: occidental (western)

And note that oriental can also be a synonym of uruguayo and thus mean "Uruguayan" because the official name of Uruguay is la República Oriental del Uruguay (meaning the republic east of the Uruguay river).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts